Kenneth L. Baritz & Associates, P.C.
A Full Service Philadelphia Law Firm
Free Initial Consultation
866-415-6588
View Our Practice Areas

What are the penalties for a first time DUI in Pennsylvania?


Over the years the legislature in Pennsylvania has shown a greater interest in stopping drunk driving. Despite these efforts, many people still decide to drink and drive. Not everyone is caught, but many are and have to deal with the consequences. As the legislature has shown a greater interest in stopping drunk driving, the penalties for doing it have increased. However, many first time offenders do not know the specific consequences they may face.

To complicate matters even more, Pennsylvania has created three different levels of consequences based on a person's BAC at the time of the offense. As you may have guessed the penalties increase as a person's BAC increases.

If convicted and your BAC is between .08 and .099%, you will have up to six months of probation, a $300 fine, have to attend a highway safety class and potentially treatment. If your BAC is between .10 and .159%, your license would be suspended for 12 months, spend anywhere from 48 hours to six months in jail, a fine of $500 - $5000, have to attend the highway safety class and possibly attend treatment. If your BAC is .16% or above, your driver's license will be suspended for 12 months, you will have to spend a minimum of 72 hours in jail and up to six months, pay a fine between $1000 and $5000, attend a safety class and possibly attend treatment.

As you can see the consequences are serious even if it is a first time DUI. You would potentially have to spend some time in jail. You also may not be able to drive for up to a year, which can be the most serious consequence if your car is your primary mode of transportation.

This is only meant to give general information on the consequences for a first time DUI in Pennsylvania and not meant to be legal advice. Experienced attorneys understand the consequences and defenses to DUI charges and may be helpful to those facing DUI charges.

Source: Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicle Services, ".08 DUI Legislation" Accessed on Aug. 25, 2014

Source: Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicle Services, ".08 DUI Legislation" Accessed on Aug. 25, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Our Attorneys

Contact Our Team Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Kenneth L. Baritz & Associates, P.C.
100 S Broad Street Suite 1205
Philadelphia, PA 19110

Toll Free: 866-415-6588
Phone: 215-557-8608
Fax: 215-557-3539
Philadelphia Law Office Map