Diligent. Dedicated. Prepared.

What are the penalties for a second DUI in Pennsylvania?

There are many people in Philadelphia who consume alcohol to the point of impairment. This by itself is not usually a huge problem, but the choices a person makes while impaired can become a big deal. One relatively common decision that can have serious consequences is getting behind the wheel and driving. Many people in Philadelphia have one DUI. Previously we discussed the consequences for a first time DUI, but some people make the mistake of drinking and driving even after an initial DUI. These people may end up getting a second DUI. They should know that the consequences for a second DUI conviction are more serious than an initial DUI.

As previously discussed the statute uses three different BAC ranges when determining the consequences for DUIs. The three ranges are a BAC of .08 to .099 percent, .10 to .159 percent and .16 percent and above. Just like for a first time DUI, the penalties increase as a person’s BAC increases.

If convicted and your BAC is between .08 and .099 percent, your license will be suspended for 12 months, you will be required to use an ignition interlock for one year, you will have to serve between five days and six months in jail and a fine of $300 to $2,500. If your BAC is between .10 and .159 percent, your license would be suspended for 12 months, you will have one year ignition interlock, spend anywhere from 30 days to six months in jail and be fined between $750 and $5,000. If your BAC is .16 percent or above, your driver’s license will be suspended for 18 months, you will have one year of mandatory ignition interlock, you will have to spend a minimum of 90 days in jail and up to five years and pay a fine between $1,500 and $10,000.

On top of all the other penalties no matter what your BAC level is at the time of arrest, you will have to attend a highway safety class and could possibly be ordered to complete treatment.

As one can see the consequences can be very serious and have a great effect on a person’s life. This is only meant to be general information though and is not legal advice. Consulting with an attorney may be beneficial if one is facing a second DUI charge.

Source: Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicle Services, “.08 DUI Legislation” accessed on Sept. 29, 2014


FindLaw Network
Super Lawyers
The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trial Lawyers